adsense1

Tuesday, 29 April 2014

6 Weeks Pregnant - First Doctors appointment and let the Morning Sickness begin...

So today I am 6 weeks pregnant and the fatigue definitely started Monday. I was so tired at work on Monday I still don't know how I made it through the day...

Yesterday the morning sickness really started. I was really nauseous when I first got up in the morning. I couldn't even make my regular morning smoothie. The thought of a smoothie made me fell even more sick. It came and went for most of the day and got really strong when it had been a couple hours since I ate. A lot of food has been turning me off for the last couple days. Had chicken salad for dinner last night but I couldn't stomach the chicken so I just had a regular garden salad and garlic bread. I definitely still crave bread especially when I am feeling nauseous. It is really the only thing that sounds appealing...Last night I was craving garlic bread and today I was craving toast with peanut butter and jam...

I was so nauseous this morning when I got up that I had to stay home from work. I haven't actually vomited yet but I almost did a couple times this morning. It is definitely getting worse. Usually if I eat something, even if it is small, I will feel a bit better but the thought of most food makes me feel so sick. I just had some toast for breakfast so I am actually feeling better right now...Hopefully I stay feeling this way for a while. 

As far as my doctors appointment went yesterday, it wasn't too exciting. She just took a urine test to confirm that I am pregnant, gave me a requisition for some standard blood work, gave me a prescription for dilecton (for nausea), and a requisition for an early ultrasound. I have to call to make an appointment and she told me not to make the appointment for earlier then 8 weeks since it is hard to tell the viability of the pregnancy before the 8 week mark. 

I am super nervous about getting blood work done. I hate getting blood work done in general and I think it will be tough when I am feeling so nauseous already. I have to fast overnight before I go in for the blood work and I have no idea how that is going to be possible since I get even more nauseous when I don't eat. I am also nervous for the results. I wanted to go this week because my doctor is going to be away for a couple weeks. Therefore, if I wait until next week to go, she might be away when the results come in and I will have to wait even longer to find out the results. I was thinking of going tomorrow morning but if I feel as bad as I did this morning, there is no way I can go. I think I might just wait and go next Wednesday since I have the day off that day. Hopefully I am feeling better by then...

As far as the ultrasound goes, I am thinking of booking it for the last week of March. I will be around 9 weeks by then so I am pretty sure they can see a heartbeat and will be better able to tell the viability of the pregnancy by then. I have my next doctors appointment, with my regular doctor booked for March 26, 2014 which is 3 weeks from today. It was supposed to be a month from yesterday but she will be away so I had to book it a bit earlier so they can book me for the next set of tests...I totally forgot to ask my doctor about using a midwife versus an OB and when I have to pick an OB and/or hospital so I will have to ask her that at my next appointment.

As far as the ultrasound goes, I am excited for the ultrasound so I will have to book it soon. I will keep you posted on when that will be...

Hopefully I start feeling better soon! 

Oh yeah...today baby Spiegelman is the size of a lentil...





No comments:

Post a Comment