adsense1

Tuesday, 29 April 2014

7 Weeks Pregnant - 1st Round of Blood work and Morning Sickness

So this morning was my 1st round of blood work...standard prenatal blood work. I hate getting blood work done. I don't really like needles in general and I am scared that it will reveal that something is wrong. Not to mention it was a fasting blood test so I wasn't supposed to eat for 12 hours or so. Bad enough on a normal day but I get so nauseous if I don't eat so it was even tougher. I had the day off today since it is my regular compressed day so I slept in and didn't get to the clinic until 10 am. I opens at 7:30 but I find it so packed that early in the morning that you end up waiting for a while. Plus I find if I sleep in, I get less nauseous when I get up. It worked out. I got up around 9 or so, had some water, and got ready and I didn't feel nearly as nauseous as I do when I get up around 6 am. We didn't have to wait that long at the clinic at all and everything seemed to go smoothly. I looked away while she was taking the blood because it freaks me out to watch but I am annoyed with my self that I didn't watch to make sure she took a new needle. I wasn't really thinking. I was just trying to get through the test without passing out or puking that I forgot to look at the needle and make sure it was a fresh clean needle. 

I told my husband this when I left the clinic and of course he thinks I am crazy for worrying about it since it is a blood clinic and of course they know they need to use a fresh needle. Which logically I know makes sense but I am super paranoid about these kind of things. I don't want to find out that I contracted some disease because the person didn't use a clean needle...Anyways there is not much I can do now. I just have to trust that she used a clean needle. 

I am also worried about the results. I really hope that the results come back good. I have no idea how long it takes for my doctor to get the results. She said at my appointment last week that she would call me if there was something wrong. Otherwise, I am guessing that she will just confirm at my next appointment in 2 weeks that everything is fine. I know that she is on vacation next week so I am not even sure when I can expect a call. Hopefully everything is fine. At this point, I am really happy that I at least made it through the test without fainting or puking. Mitch was really nice and took me out for a nice breakfast as a reward for getting through the test because I was so freaked out. I am one lucky girl. 

As far as my symptoms go, this past week I was pretty nauseous all day, all week. It would get better if I ate something but at some points it was so short lived. I went 3 days I think eating cheese pizza for dinner cause that is about the only thing that sounded appetizing. Overall, I have been eating a lot more carbs and sugar. I found that I haven't been feeling great overall and I think part of the reason is that I have been eating a lot more crap. I had cookies for breakfast and been eating granola bars because that is one of the few things I can stomach but then I have no energy and feel gross and bloated. Yesterday I was finally able to stomach a banana and I found I felt a bit better throughout the day. Bananas are supposed to be high in B vitamins which help with nausea so I decided to have some banana this morning and again I feel a bit better. I also feel better when I eat more protein. I guess it's because it takes longer to digest so it wards off the nausea for longer...Hopefully if I continue to eat more protein and bananas, I will feel better because this past week I felt pretty sick all week.

I skipped the gym all last week which was a first in so long. I just felt way to tired and sick to go to the gym. Yesterday was the first day in a while that I made it to the gym. I did a pretty light workout but it still helped a bit with getting my energy back. I weighed my self at the gym and to my surprise I am back at my starting weight of 127. I did go up to 130 at around the 5 week mark but I think that was just mainly bloat and water weight. I am happy to be back at 127. I was reading that you only need to gain 1-5 pounds in the 1st trimester so I think its fine that I am still at 127. 

At week 7, baby Spiegelman is the size of a chickpea!!!




No comments:

Post a Comment